//
you're reading...
Lifestyle

I’m sorry 

​By Constance van Niekerk 

There’s nothing as irresistible as a man on his knees. That’s probably why men propose on their knees. Sometimes it’s not literally; sometimes it’s emotionally on bended knees. At times it’s just verbally, like just saying, “I’m sorry”. 

Image from temiville.wordpress.com


An apology is not an admission of guilt. It’s not a statement of declaration that one is weak. On the contrary, it’s only a strong, wise man who has the sense to apologize, regardless of whether he is right or wrong. If a person values their relationship or friendship, they will not have a problem with saying the words, “I’m sorry.” 
Once I had a quarrel with my younger sister and we didn’t speak for weeks. I knew I should call her but put it off many times. I wasn’t angry with her, I missed her terribly, but just never seemed to get the time to call her until one day she called me and apologized. That made me feel very small, and so very timid compared to my younger sister. I was embarrassed that my younger sister was the one apologizing when I should have called her first. Apologizing doesn’t take anything from you; it simply means that you are the bigger person. It doesn’t reduce your self-worth, or make you less of a person. 

If you are wrong it doesn’t mean that you are stupid or ignorant. To err is human, so we should stop being such boring perfectionists and embrace the fact that we are human and we make mistakes. 

To forgive is divine, when someone asks for forgiveness, the human thing to do is aim at divinity and forgive them.

 

Ain’t nothing like a man on bended knees. A man who calls you in the middle of the night and says, “Honey, I can’t sleep. I don’t like the way things are between us. I’m sorry about what I said baby, please forgive me,”  is a man indeed.


A man who is not afraid to be vulnerable with you, going on bended knees and admitting his mistakes is definitely a keeper. 
There’s nothing shameful about apologizing. It’s painful when someone does you wrong, then when you react to their actions, they make you pay. You are the injured party, yet they crucify you for reacting to their hurtful ways… Why is it so hard for some people to say, “I’m sorry.”? 

About Editor

Constance van Niekerk is a South African-based Zimbabwean-born creative writer, poet, music lover, spoken word artist, freelance writer, blogger and educator. She has contributed to several anthologies and published her own collection, Echoes of My Heart: A Poetry Collection available for purchase on all Amazon Stores Worldwide. She is also Editor at ZimOnlineNews. Follow her on Twitter : @convanniekerk Connect with her on Facebook and Linkedin.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 677 other followers

Follow Afrique Beat on WordPress.com

Echoes of My Heart: A Poetry Collection by Constance van Niekerk

Blog Stats

  • 29,640 hits