//
you're reading...
All That (African) Jazz

Poverty and hunger in Zimbabwe turning some citizens into criminals

​​Constance van Niekerk in Vereeniging, SA

Is poverty and hunger turning some Zimbabwean citizens into cold blooded murderers and heartless robbers? 

Julius Ziva in hospital 

For Julius Ziva, a multi-talented musician with the Zig Zag Band of the Gomo Ramasare fame, the answer is undoubtedly a ‘yes’. 
On the 9th of August this year, the musician boarded a commuter omnibus/ public taxi at Total Service Station along Julius Nyerere Road in Harare central around 9 o’clock in the evening. 
“I was on my way home to Chitungwiza.  

“There were other passengers in the commuter omnibus.

Ziva

 “After everyone got off, it was just me, the conductor, the driver and a man in civilian clothes who said to me, ‘I’m a soldier, I was trained to kill’. 

“I was unsuspecting as there was nothing out of the ordinary.

“Before I knew it, I was being attacked.

“They beat me left, right and center, breaking my spectacles and leaving me almost blind from the fists as my eyes were swollen. 

Lucky to have survived, Ziva 

“I was left for dead and had it not been for some good Samaritans who took me to Chitungwiza hospital, I would have died,” narrated Ziva, thanking God for saving his life. Ziva says that he reported the case to the Police Post at the hospital. 

Adding; “Apparently, I was not the only one attacked on this night by this notorious gang. 

“Another man was brought to the same hospital after he was attacked in the same taxi. 

Julius Ziva 

“He took the taxi from Machipisa to Zengeza via Mbudzi round about.”

Ziva went on to explain yet another attack on an unsuspecting passenger the very next morning after his attack. 

Unfortunately, the man was not as lucky as him as he succumbed to injuries sustained during the attack on admission. 

Ziva in hospital 

The musician pleaded with the Zimbabwe Republic Police to leave no stone unturned in bringing the perpetrators to justice.

“It is not right that these lawless people do as they please with our lives. The police must do all they can to put them behind bars,” he said. The thieves got away with his money and phone. 

About Editor

Constance van Niekerk is a South African-based Zimbabwean-born creative writer, poet, music lover, spoken word artist, freelance writer, blogger and educator. She has contributed to several anthologies and published her own collection, Echoes of My Heart: A Poetry Collection available for purchase on all Amazon Stores Worldwide. She is also Editor at ZimOnlineNews. Follow her on Twitter : @convanniekerk Connect with her on Facebook and Linkedin.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 656 other followers

Follow Afrique Beat on WordPress.com

Echoes of My Heart: A Poetry Collection by Constance van Niekerk

Blog Stats

  • 26,981 hits