//
you're reading...
Lifestyle

Beware of fake technicians in the Vaal

Constance van Niekerk, Vereeniging

The day before my birthday, on April 2, I decided to get my fridge fixed as the top part had not been working in a while. I called a technician who promised to come during the course of the day. Unfortunately, my phone battery died before he had come and my phone wouldn’t charge. A sixth sense should have told me this was an ominous sign, but because I really wanted to get my fridge working properly again I blissfully ignored the tell-tale signs of a questionable work ethos. When I finally got my phone charged, I arranged that the technician come the next day, on the morning of my birthday. I wanted him to come in before I went out to lunch with a friend. He came, said he needed money for the spare parts and charged the labour separately. Just as he was about to put back the inside cover his phone rang. According to him the call was from another of his clients. The client was waiting for him so he had to go, he said. He assured me that the fridge was fixed and would be happy to return if there was any problem. I guess I had my lunch appointment uppermost in my mind because my alarm bells did not ring. I should have switched on my fridge immediately after it was ‘fixed’. 

When I came back later in the day, I cleaned the fridge feeling ecstatic about finally having got the fridge fixed. Imagine my shock then and utter dismay on realizing that my fridge was now completely dead! I called the guy who had ‘fixed’ it and he promised to come during the morning. At 3pm I called him again. Again he said he’ was coming, but never showed up. At this point it dawned on me that this guy had ripped me off to the tune of almost R700. The guy had come to me well-recommended by my daughter. She praised him to high heaven because he had worked with her boyfriend in Three Rivers. What the two of us did not know was that the rascal had been fired a few weeks after he had left his place of employment to go moonlighting at some other place. He was under suspicion of being involved in a burglary at the shop where R30 000.00 was stolen. 

Tumi

Apparently, this man does his scams everywhere he goes. He promises to fix your electrical appliances. However, what he does is to damage them and take off with your money. My fridge is not working as we speak. His name is Joseph Boitumelo Bomseni but uses Boitumelo Bt (Batam) on Facebook. He also has a Facebook page called QC.Appliance and refrigerators  (written as @tumiQC QualityCare services and repairs). 

His phone number is 074 848 8062. His girlfriend, Lebohang Mollo works at ShopRite in Vanderbijlpark. They live at number 1219 Sterling Road in Evaton. 

Tumi and his girlfriend Lebohang

This article is not published out of anger or bitterness, but I do not want anyone else to go through what I went through. I am now sitting with a fridge that’s not working. I called Vereeniging SAPS and was told to get a letter of demand at Sebokeng Court, and to then take the letter to Evaton Police Station.  

According to the man’s Facebook profile, he works at Bergens Solar. That of course is a lie because in actual fact, he was once employed at Bergens Appliances in Three Rivers, but was fired when he became a problem. He also claims to work at Thetha FM. 
 I suspect that he could be one of a gang that pretends to be technicians when in actual fact they come to see what they can steal in your home. Please Vaal residents, be warned. 

Joseph Boitumelo Bomseni

                

About Editor

Constance van Niekerk is a South African-based Zimbabwean-born creative writer, poet, music lover, spoken word artist, freelance writer, blogger and educator. She has contributed to several anthologies and published her own collection, Echoes of My Heart: A Poetry Collection available for purchase on all Amazon Stores Worldwide. She is also Editor at ZimOnlineNews. Follow her on Twitter : @convanniekerk Connect with her on Facebook and Linkedin.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 677 other followers

Follow Afrique Beat on WordPress.com

Echoes of My Heart: A Poetry Collection by Constance van Niekerk

Blog Stats

  • 29,558 hits